Poem: Why I need Black Jesus…

There was a time, when in my mind,

Black Jesus turned White.

Two worlds, just could. not. collide.

And then I asked why.

Why? Why do I need black Jesus?

In a world that always said that Jesus was this tanless, melaninless, blackless,

Blonde haired, blue eyed, fool, wearing a crown and a gown and a deep, mournful frown…always, always, looking down.

On my blackness. Black. Always-late-to-churchness.

And then I realised.

I need black Jesus.

I don’t need to sterilise my human weakness.

I need black Jesus.

I need black Jesus for every negro

that’s not had the pleasure of simply watchin’ cotton grow.

I need black Jesus, to balance out the current world’s dominating whiteness.

I need black Jesus, because the stereotypes do not dictate my brightness.

I need black Jesus, because the image in my grandmother’s house is so far from Christ’s realness.

I need black Jesus, because apparently every other black man has ended up freeless for their dumbness.

I need black Jesus, because this universe believes that all good things come from the lightness.

I need black Jesus, to remind me that I don’t need to be washed white as snow, oh. hell. no. I don’t…

I need black Jesus, to imprint the black and beautiful image of God-createdness that history wants me to forget.

I need black Jesus, to show me the way in this dunya that wants to crucify my blackness.

I need black Jesus, to affirm my priestly, prophetic, black, angry, social justice madness.

I need black Jesus, to tell me that from death, new things arise. That I can have a dream. That one day, black Jesus won’t be the exception to every rule, but one day, the mainstream.

I need black Jesus, because black Jesus is more to me, than a one-episode joke on Family Guy.

I need black Jesus to look me in the eye, and tell me that all the world’s lies are not lines that I have to live by. be defined by. or even die by.

The wrongness here is not my blackness, the wrong lies in the unnatural conformity towards whiteness, I refuse to hide my brightness that lives in me, in my blackness, please don’t tell me this is darkness.

Rightness, exists in whiteness as much as blackness and yet, I digress..I need black Jesus. We need black Jesus.

Because I know that I can never happily, comfortably, spiritually, live by that lie…the lie that says that black Jesus only ever lived in my own mind.

That is one little “white-lie” that Black Jesus will not. die by.

b_black_jesus

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

