Quasimodo?

 

Have you no love,

Quasimodo?

Do bells embraced

Not suffice?

 

Are you loveable,

Quasimodo?

Or just a host for

Lice?

 

That tower cannot love you,

Quasimodo?

Not the bells, the rope, the height.

The broken mirrors cannot shun you,

Quasimodo – nor can mice

alone suffice.

 

Quasimodo?

Can I behold your

Face?

Or touch your pain?

Can you reveal your

Feeble frame,

Be bold – let me call your name?

 

Come down, let me view

Your broken soul and

Take you in my arms

And try to make you whole.

 

Quasimodo? Climb down,

Descend from the heights!

Be once again in sight,

Move from darkness to

New light.

 

The years have passed

Since you’ve been called by name.

You have lived as a Hunchback

Of local fame. Yet, you are

More than Notre Dame.

 

You are neither broken, or maimed,

Or strange.

No more disfigured

Than the judgements of those you sought to tame.

 

To me, your face is

Kind, and mild –

I can see your heart

Expressed in your fearful smile.

 

As you fall from your

heights, I find I’ve fallen

too –

 

Deeper, into love –

With myself, you.

in the mirror,

mirror not on the wall, but

on the still font water.

 

 

175597-004-693B1A7E.jpg

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

